KS4 in 2016

  • You will be able to either carry on with one language or both languages you have studied at your high school (French / German).
  • You can also pick up Spanish as a complete beginner. However, it is recommended that you have reached level 6 in your other language(s) at high school, as you will prepare Spanish GCSE in 2 years.

New GCSE assessment

Examination Board: AQA.

Key points:

  • The qualifications are linear, meaning students sit all their exams at the end of the course. (no coursework or controlled assessments)
  • Each skill (Listening / Speaking / reading / Writing) is worth 25%.
  • The course content is based around 3 themes:
  • Theme 1: Identity and culture.
  • Theme 2: local, national, international and global areas of interest.
  • Theme 3: Current and future study and employment.
  • GCSE languages have a Foundation Tier (grades 1 – 5) and a Higher Tier (grades 4 – 9). Students must enter for all four skills at the same tier.

New grading explained:

  • 1-9 replacing A* to G
  • 7+ same proportion as currently getting A/A*
  • 5   Current low B, upper C
  • 4   Same proportion as currently getting C
  • 1   Bottom of current G